sruspana.blogg.se

Backblaze hyper backup
Backblaze hyper backup




But then they shut down their consumer offering, leaving only a too-expensive small business offering. The price point was great and the software mostly just worked. Crashplan: The Good Old DaysĬrashplan used to be good. Overall, I would weakly recommend it as the best of a bad bunch.īut Arq doesn't run on Linux. And I worry a little that it's closed-source, but I'm reassured by them documenting the storage format.

backblaze hyper backup

And the UX is a little awkward to find things. It mostly works, although I do worry when I hear about the developer breaking backwards compatibility between versions.

backblaze hyper backup

It uses a modern, content-addressed storage format. Arq: It's OK Arq screenshot, from my mac.Īrq is decent, and I use it for my Macbook. Spoiler: Ultimately, I use Arq to backup my Macs, and Duplicacy for my Synology Network-Attached-Storage (NAS) device. I'm looking for software that will run on the NAS (Linux, Synology), at a reasonable cost for 1TB of backups, client-side encrypted, maybe with a year's worth of version retention. So, not really backups! Time to re-evaluate cloud backup software. Cloud Sync is not revisioned – only the latest version is kept, so a corrupted source would overwrite the sync. My macbook's backups are all good, having revisioned daily backups on Arq.īut my big files that live only on the Synology NAS (mostly disk images taken from disks inherited from a deceased estate) were only "synced" to Google Cloud Storage, by Synology Cloud Sync. I have data on my macbook, and on my Synology NAS.

backblaze hyper backup

After my last blogpost, where one of my hard drives was maybe taken out by lightning, I was reminded to reevaluate my backup strategy.






Backblaze hyper backup